Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

If function not working

PBL if.PNGHello all,

I am new to Power BI and I am trying to write an IF function in a column. I have two different tables that I need to pull data from. THe column needs to display "If the catagory on the HR table says "PBL", then display the total budgeted salary from the Budget table, if anything else, display the [Annual Rate or max(Mid-Range Rate, Last Occupant Salary)] * [Funding Distribution]/100) from the HR table. But I am getting this error and cannot figure out why.

See screen shot.

@Greg_Deckler

Thank you in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
sanalytics
Solution Supplier
Solution Supplier

Hi @Anonymous 
As @Greg_Deckler Suggested..
you can try below formula..

your col name=IF(HR[Category]="PBL",LOOKUPVALUE(Budget[Total Budgeted Base Salary],Budget[Combo Key],HR[Combo Key]),(HR[Annual Rate or max(Mid-Range Rate, Last Occupant Salary)]*HR[Funding Distribution]/100) )

Hope it will solve your issue..

Regards,
snandy

View solution in original post

23 REPLIES 23
sanalytics
Solution Supplier
Solution Supplier

Hello all,

i am completly agree to @edhans what he has tried to show.Sumx/Filter is much faster than LOOKUPVALUE.
I also believe that, one formula can achieve by multiple ways.
We the people who love to write Dax, some times we try to solve problem in own way that has been already solved.I have solved multiple problems which already @Greg_Deckler  @amitchandak @edhans  @Ashish_Mathur solved those problem before.Not looking for any kudos but definitely for learning to see how i can increase my skill.
Thanks to  @edhans for showing a beautiful difference between LOOKUPVALUE vs SUMX/FILTER.

Regards,

snandy 

stay home,stay safe..