Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Tom_G
Helper II
Helper II

IF Statement with Filter

Hi - i'm new to DAX. I have table with a column with the name of plants and another column with the types of access to them listed on separate rows - such as LoadingTruck, ReceivingTruck, LoadingShip, ReceivingShip etc. I want to create a calculated column that evaluates for each plant whether it has the ability to load AND receive either by truck, ship, rail, barge etc and if true writes the word "bidirectional" in the calculated column.

I can write an IF statement that evaluates whether the words LoadingTruck and ReceivingTruck appear in the column but I can't work out how to link this to the plant name.

Any ideas of how to do this would be much appreicated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Tom_G ,

To create two calculated column as below.

type = 
VAR load =
    LEN ( "Loading" )
VAR rece =
    LEN ( "Receiving" )
VAR searl =
    SEARCH ( "Loading", 'Table1'[Access Types], 1, BLANK () )
VAR searr =
    SEARCH ( "Receiving", 'Table1'[Access Types], 1, BLANK () )
RETURN
    IF (
        searl <> BLANK (),
        RIGHT ( 'Table1'[Access Types], LEN ( 'Table1'[Access Types] ) - load ),
        IF (
            searr <> BLANK (),
            RIGHT ( 'Table1'[Access Types], LEN ( 'Table1'[Access Types] ) - rece )
        )
    )
Column = 
VAR countr =
    CALCULATE (
        COUNTROWS ( Table1 ),
        FILTER (
            Table1,
            Table1[Plant Name] = EARLIER ( Table1[Plant Name] )
                && Table1[type] = EARLIER ( Table1[type] )
        )
    )
RETURN
    IF ( countr > 1, "Bidirectional", "Onedirection" )

2.PNG

Pbix as attached.

Community Support Team _ Frank
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the others find it more quickly.

View solution in original post