Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

New2PowerBI
Helper III
Helper III

IF Statement Help

I'm new to Power BI and would like some help. 

I have a table with values:

FREQUENCY (with numerical values) and FREQUENCY UNITS (with alphanumeric values)

I have another table that provides a "key" of the value (Annual WO Impact column).  For example, If Frequency is 1 and Frequency Unit is Months, the Annual WO Impact column notes "12".  What I want to do is figure out cost based on the Annual WO Impact result (number multiplied by $30); not sure how to connect the two Tables together of if I even need to, I may be making it more difficult than what is needed. 

New to Power BI and community; any help will be greatly appreciated! Smiley Happy

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yulgu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @New2PowerBI,

In your scenario, please add a calculated column in the table(in my test, it's named 'Fact Table') which contains thousands of records using below DAX formula:

KEY =
LOOKUPVALUE (
    'Key Table'[Annual WO Impact],
    'Key Table'[FREQUENCY], 'Fact Table'[FREQUENCY],
    'Key Table'[FREQUNIT], 'Fact Table'[FREQUNIT]
)

Thanks,
Yuliana Gu

Community Support Team _ Yuliana Gu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
v-yulgu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @New2PowerBI,

In your scenario, please add a calculated column in the table(in my test, it's named 'Fact Table') which contains thousands of records using below DAX formula:

KEY =
LOOKUPVALUE (
    'Key Table'[Annual WO Impact],
    'Key Table'[FREQUENCY], 'Fact Table'[FREQUENCY],
    'Key Table'[FREQUNIT], 'Fact Table'[FREQUNIT]
)

Thanks,
Yuliana Gu

Community Support Team _ Yuliana Gu