Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

I_dont_know_M
Regular Visitor

I have a datetime column, want to add a column that counts the time since the starting datetime

I'm new to Power Query and M. I have a column that's in datetime type, it starts from 2022-11-21 3:00:00 PM, and ends at 2022-11-21 5:00:00 PM, with one minute increment.  I want to add a custom column that shows the time lasted since the start. So I wish the result to be {0, 1, 2, 3,...} in minutes in the duration type. The name of the datetime column is "Date and Time", previous step is "Added Index". My function goes:

= Table.AddColumn(#"Added Index", "Run time", each [Date and Time]-[Date and Time]{1})

I got message:

Expression.Error: We cannot convert the value #datetime(2022, 11, 21, 15, 0, 0) to type List.
Details:
Value=2022-11-21 3:00:00 PM
Type=[Type]

I'm keeping the "Date and Time" column in datetime type so if the experiment runs pass mid night, it can still calculate the duration.

I have searched the internet for hours, I came to here for your help, please, help me, many thanks in advance.

9 REPLIES 9
I_dont_know_M
Regular Visitor

Hi All, thanks to a 2019 solution published by @Nolock , I have now solved the error.

The syntex has been changed from

=Table.AddColumn(#"Added Index", "Run time", each [Date and Time] - [Date and Time]{0})

to 

=Table.AddColumn(#"Added Index", "Run time", each [Date and Time] - #"Added Index"[Date and Time]{0})