Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

PStavis
Frequent Visitor

How to work with duration correctly?

Hi!

I'm new to Power Bi, working on my first report. The goal is to create a graphic showing how many hours the train engineer waits between his check in and the train departs. The goal is 1h. And also be able to filter the information based on days/months/years.

Using PQ I created a calculated column ([DELTA_PERM) showing the difference between "partida" (date/hour of departure) and "ap mq" (date/hour of check in). I set this columns as "duration". From what I learned, the returned value (like 0.01:00:00) means 0 days + 1h + 0h minutes + 0 seconds. Another column I created, (Meta_Estadia) has the goal (1).

Then I moved to DAX and created a measure called "m_ESTADIA_1" to calculate the average time engineers wait using the following formula: (AVERAGE('CIC MESCLADO'[DELTA_PERM]))*24.

From there on I can't simply put everything together on my graphic. Either the goal shows up wrong on the graphic or I can't display the average time as hour (HH:MM).

Here's the pibx link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/gcw07yuh4e6xsjk/BI%20CIC%20v2.pbix?dl=0

And the data source: https://www.dropbox.com/s/w7lif6532z92x9i/Giro%20Locomotivas%20-%20Agosto%20V1.0.xlsm?dl=0

Maybe I should use serial data/time, calculate everything and then get back to the view I need? Appreciate any inputs.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
aj1973
Community Champion
Community Champion

Check this out.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1JyghX-9BuHN2dwQI5vH191ijs7JiFruC/view?usp=sharing

use tooltip to see the time in HH:MM

aj1973_0-1635192604540.png

Regards
Amine Jerbi

If I answered your question, please mark this thread as accepted
and you can follow me on
My Website, LinkedIn and Facebook

View solution in original post