Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

vchan
Regular Visitor

How to visualize data from a long term plan consisting of multiple spreadsheets

Hi,

I am new to both Power BI and this forum, so I apologize in advance if I am asking something obvious.

Suppose I have 4 spreadsheet tabs all looking like this:

Asset     2019       2020       2021

A             $              $              $

B             $              $              $

C             $              $              $

The first tab contains Labor Costs, second contains Material Costs, third contains Admin Costs, and fourth contains EBITDA. The current relationships among the tables are linked only by Asset as the key.

Questions:

1. How could I display in the first chart the trend of the Sum (Labor, Material, Admin) by Asset by year (x-axis), and the trend of EBITDA by Asset by year (x-axis)? [NTD: The objective is to see if Costs are rising faster than EBITDA.]
  2. How could I display in a second chart the 2019-2021 Average (Labor, Material, Admin) by Asset in a pie-chart? And a third chart the 2019-2021 Average EBITDA by Asset in a pie-chart? [NTD: The objective is to see if a certain Asset is responsible for an out-sized Cost or EBITDA.]

Thanks very much in advance for your time.

6 REPLIES 6
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

@vchan,

You would need to unpivot columns in each table, and append cost tables in a single table, then create relationship between the appended table and the EBITDA table. For more details about how to create the two charts, please review attached PBIX file.

1.PNG

Regards,
Lydia

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Hi Lydia,