Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

soja
Regular Visitor

How to use an OR operator between FILTER statements in a CALCULATE expression?

Hello, 

I am still fairly new to DAX and Power BI and am having trouble solving a problem.  I am trying to figure out how to write an expression (in a measure) that evaluates a 8 variables (which have been assigned rank to make it more straight fwd).   Basically, I want to have the first filter followed by and AND statement (which is currently correct) and then have all the rest of the filters be OR statements.  However, the last 2 filter variables exist in a different table which require me to use another FILTER statement with RELATEDTABLE to access.  Is there a way to link the last 2 FILTERs with OR statements instead of the AND statement assumed by the comma?

What I have so far is this (which produces an answer that underestimates the actual results due to the additional AND statements):

Indicator = CALCULATE(COUNTX('Table1', 'Table1'[IDNumber]),

FILTER('Table1', [Rank1] >=4||[Listed?]="yes"),

FILTER('Table1', [Rank2] >=13||[Rank3]>=15||[Rank4]>=15||[Rank5]>=6||[Rank6]>=10),

FILTER(RELATEDTABLE(Table2), Table2[Rank7]>=8),

FILTER(RELATEDTABLE(Table3), Table3[Rank8]>=5))

Conversely, if I could create another calculated column in Table1 for the Rank7 and Rank8, that would also work.  But I am not sure how to assign rank to a column from a related table in a calculated column.  If there is a way to do this, that would also solve my problem.  (NOTE:  All tables have appropriate relationships and are joined through the "IDNumber", though some have many-to-one relationships).

Thank you in advance for you help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yuta-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi soja,