Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

BILearner
Advocate I
Advocate I

How to treat columns that has most numerical data and some characte data

Hi,

I am new to Business Intelligence space and PowerBI. So, please forgive me if this question sounds stupid.

I am working on a Dataset(CSV) that has around 40 columns and and 400 rows and I can not afford loose data in the data cleaning process.  

I am facing the problem with the columns that have numeric values as well as very few charater values. I can not treat these columns as character data types because I need to perform aggrgations on these columns. For example I have a column that has most of the numeric values, but it alos has few N/A and '-' for some rows I can not remove these because they have specific business meaning associated with them. This because when I group the data, I want a user to be able to see these charater & numeric values a in a single report like follwing - 

Summarry report - 

Year              Revenue                  Quality

2017             Not reported             90%

2017             $250,000                    95%

2016             $100,000                    N/A

2015              $200,000                   85%

Can somebody please advice me on how to acheive this?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @BILearner,

Maybe we could add a new column, which will have 0 instead of "n/a" and "-". Then we could do some math operations in this new column. Finally, we could use the old and new columns to output a proper result.

Result =
VAR sumq =
    SUM ( Table1[QuantityInNum] )
RETURN
    IF (
        sumq = 0
            && MIN ( 'Table1'[Quantity] ) = "n/a",
        "n/a",
        IF ( sumq = 0 && MIN ( 'Table1'[Quantity] ) = "-", "-", sumq )
    )

How to treat columns that has most numerical data and some characte data .jpg