Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ElizabethFoy
Regular Visitor

How to show "sameperiodlastyear" with a date slicer

I am new to PowerBI and learning as I go along.

I have a finance transaction table of GL transactions. I want to produce a table with actuals vs priorperiod last year YTD

I have created a prior year measure using the "sameperiodlastyear" DAX formula.

This works perfectly................ until I then add in a date slicer (from the Dates table).

I need a date slicer otherwise the actuals pull in every ledger item to date rather than say Jan-Jul19.  Unfortunately, once the data slicer is added to show actuals for 2019, the Prior Year column then goes blank. 

How do I overcome this?

Any advice would be appreciated

Many thanks

Elizabeth

11 REPLIES 11
tex628
Community Champion
Community Champion

You should be able to use something like this: 

Measure = 
VAR dateRange = 'Calendar'[Date]
return
Calculate(
[Amount],
All('Calendar'),
'Calendar'[Date] = Sameperiodlastyear(dateRange)
)

Let me know if it doesnt work! 

Connect on LinkedIn

Thank you. How do I input in that format? I feel daft for asking but I`m quite happy to admit it is all rather new to me.  I`m an advanced excel user...but having to start from scratch with my knowledge in PowerBI! 

Measure = 
VAR dateRange = DATESBETWEEN('Dates'[Dates], MIN('Dates'[Dates]),MAX('Dates'[Dates]))
Var dateRange2 = Sameperiodlastyear(dateRange)
return
Calculate(
[Sum of Transaction Value WAvg GBP],
ALL('Dates'),
dateRange2
)

Had to make some small changes but i hope it works, should be with the correct table and measure names!

Connect on LinkedIn

thank you so much, that worked!