Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to seperate report from data model

Hello everyone,

I am quite new to environment so this question may be very easy.

I have a quite complex and big data model and created several report based same model via Get Data-PowerBI Dataset
But in the beginning-before I publish it to PowerBI app- I created a report on it. Afterwards I use it as a source for other reports. So other reports size is around 15kb-20kb but source has 150mb since it holds views,tables etc.
Now I want to seperate first report from the model and save it as dependent report like other reports?

Is there a way to make it instead of creating new report and do same report all over again?

Thanks in advance,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-frfei-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,

To save the report as a pbix should help you. Please refer to the online document.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/service-export-to-pbix

In your scenario, to find the report that you can download is the key point. The report must have been created by using Power BI Desktop and published to the Power BI service, or the .pbix file must have been uploaded to the Power BI service.

Community Support Team _ Frank
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the others find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
v-frfei-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,

To save the report as a pbix should help you. Please refer to the online document.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/service-export-to-pbix