Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

RMel
Frequent Visitor

How to run an R script transformation on an existing query?

Hi all, I am new to Power BI but fairly experienced with R.

I am training myself by working through the exercises in the Dashboard in a Day course here: https://powerbi.microsoft.com/en-us/diad/

I noticed there is an option in the Query Editor Transform bar to run an R script to transform data instead of/as well as using the GUI.

So I tried to create a very simple new column using the R script:

dataset$double_revenue <- dataset$Revenue*2

This resulted in the error message:

"Formula.Firewall: Query 'Sales' (step 'Run R Script') references other queries or steps, so it may not directly access a data source. Please rebuild this data combination."

The automatically-generated M code for the query is as such (This is my first experience with M so do not know how to debug this):

let
Source = Csv.Document(File.Contents("C:\Users\mydata\Data\USSales\sales.csv"),[Delimiter=",", Columns=5, Encoding=1252, QuoteStyle=QuoteStyle.None]),
#"Promoted Headers" = Table.PromoteHeaders(Source, [PromoteAllScalars=true]),
#"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Promoted Headers",{{"ProductID", Int64.Type}, {"Date", type date}, {"Zip", type text}, {"Units", Int64.Type}, {"Revenue", type number}}),
#"Appended Query" = Table.Combine({#"Changed Type", #"International Sales"}),
#"Added Conditional Column" = Table.AddColumn(#"Appended Query", "CountryName", each if [Country] = null then "USA" else [Country]),
#"Removed Columns" = Table.RemoveColumns(#"Added Conditional Column",{"Country"}),
#"Renamed Columns" = Table.RenameColumns(#"Removed Columns",{{"CountryName", "Country"}}),