Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ExaroNex2017
Frequent Visitor

How to return Distinct rows based on multiple values

I have recently been given a project at work which requires the use of DAX (I am a complete newbie) within PowerBI and, whilst i think that i have the basic measures dealing with current data calculated as expected I am having issues when looking back historically. The source dataset is coming from SQL Server and is comprised of data relating to ticket updates from our  work logging software. Each ticket can have multiple updates throughout the day but , for my current purpose, i am looking to plot the values over time (e,g tickets opened per day) and so only need to count a distinct ticket once per day. This is pretty straigh forward using Distinct count but where i am really struggling is when i need to reference other values from that distinct row(e.g. time in status) which articfically inflate the sums when duplicated. I SQL i could do this using Row_Number by ticket and date and then picking the last row for each ticket/day but in DAX, from my understanding at least, functions such as RANKX only allow you to rank by a single value?

Example Data

Ticket Number, UpdatedTime, Status, Time In Status, Severity

201546, 2017-07-28 09:00,Open, 10, 20

201546, 2017-07-28 10:00, InProgress, 70,20

Where i would want to filter to only the last row and extract the severity etc

Any help/pointers/advice anyone could provide would be much appreciated as i am working to tight timelines.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hey,

I created a little example, that uses the sample data + one extra ticketnumber.

What you achieve by the windowing function ROW_NUMBER() OVER(PARTITION BY ... ORDER BY ...) is achieved by this calculated column, except the filtering this comes a little later