Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to make my report slicer filter more quickly?

Hi,

I am very new to Power BI, so apologies if this is just some fundamental knowledge I don't have yet.

I am connecting to external data in Google BigQuery to a view (that takes about 10 secs to run, FYI) of all our historical sales data by product, by DirectQuery. This produces data of about 350,000 rows. I then have a matrix to display the data in detail, with multiple slicers to filter the data.

My problem is that whenever I amend the slicers to filter for something the matrix takes ages to refresh and display the data, about 20 secs every time.

What are my options here to make this display quicker? Do I need a lot less data, so maybe filtering the view query down to only this year (although I'm surprised if this is the solution, as thought PowerBI was able to deal with crazy amounts of data..)? Any other options, as ideally want to keep historical data in...?

I did try it out with Import, instead of DirectQuery, but that does not give the desired outcome of allowing the end user to get real-time data whenever they view the report. It does drastically reduce the time to filter the data, though. Also to note, when I filter the slicers it does not run the query again and update the data, only does that on the refresh button.

Thanks,

Benji

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have since found out that the answer to this questions: "Am I right in thinking that with a filter on the slicer, it doesn't rerun/refresh the underlying query?" is no. Every slicer filtering causes a rerun/refresh of the underlying query, so that is why it's taking so long to filter/slice.