Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

jhurst
Regular Visitor

How to have both total and average

I'm a Power BI newbie & hope someone can help. I have a table visualization (I've also tried matrix as well) & want to have BOTH a Total AND Average at the bottom (like the picture below).  I've gotten one or the other but not both at the same time.  Is this possible?

powerbi-totalaverage.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Actually, building on my previous reply, you can put a line break in a measure with a shift + enter inside a text string.

jdbuchanan71_0-1595520283337.png

Then you get something like this which is close

jdbuchanan71_1-1595520327616.png

You do have to turn on Word wrap for the values field as well in order for the line break to show up.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
jdbuchanan71
Super User
Super User

@jhurst 

You could do something like this where you check if you are on a reqular row (a single date) and if not return both the total and the average.

COUNT = 
VAR _avg = AVERAGEX ( VALUES ( 'Date'[Date] ), [Count Measure] )
VAR _count = [Count Measure]
RETURN
    IF (
        HASONEVALUE ( 'Date'[Date] ),
        _count,
        FORMAT ( _count, "#,#" ) & " (" & FORMAT ( _avg, "#,#" & ")" )
    )

jdbuchanan71_1-1595519917916.png

Actually, building on my previous reply, you can put a line break in a measure with a shift + enter inside a text string.

jdbuchanan71_0-1595520283337.png

Then you get something like this which is close

jdbuchanan71_1-1595520327616.png

You do have to turn on Word wrap for the values field as well in order for the line break to show up.

@ jdbuchanan71

So this code is a measure, right? (I did say I was new to this)