Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to get multiple values selected in a slicer and store them in a nX1 table

Hi,

I am a PowerBI noob. I have a slicer where users can select multiple values. Say, user selectes Shoes, Electronics, Books in the slicer.

Question 1: How do I store the values "Shoes, Electronics, Books" in a 3*1 table for later use.

Question 2: I have been able to concatenate Shoes, Electronics, Books  into a measure. Alternatively, how can I unconcatenate this measure to get the 3*1 table.

Many thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Anonymous 

a quick and dirty solution. See the attached file also. It might need refining depending on whatr you exactly want in different scenarios. I had assumed there was only one row per customer

ShowMeasure2 = 
VAR CatCostumer_ =
    CONCATENATEX (
        CALCULATETABLE ( DISTINCT( Customer[Category] ); ALL(Customer[Category]));
        Customer[Category];
        ", "
    )
VAR AuxTable_ =
    ADDCOLUMNS (
        DISTINCT ( 'Merchandise Category'[Category] );
        "Found"; SEARCH ( 'Merchandise Category'[Category]; CatCostumer_;; 0 )
    )
VAR AllFound_ =
    COUNTROWS ( AuxTable_ )
        = SUMX ( AuxTable_; INT ( [Found] > 0 ) )
RETURN
 INT ( AllFound_ )

Please mark the question solved when we get to the solution and consider kudoing if posts are helpful.

Cheers  Datanaut

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello @AlB, I'm getting unexpected result see below image

Audience Filter.png

I have audience filter, when I select "Architect" value, result gives me "Customers - Architect/Business" and "Field Architects" value in result. So how I fix this?

ShowMeasure =
VAR CatCostumer_ =
CONCATENATEX (