Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

CincyKidd
Frequent Visitor

How to get Power Bi to recognize and plot multiple data points in the same time frame

Hello everyone, a little scary. I'm not a programmer, I am a guy who likes to use numbers to prove things and Power Bi seems to be that tool.

I am looking at metrics and I am trying to simply plot XX by Day. There are several issues.

Since this is a 24/7/365 operation, we run 2 12 hr shifts, so there are multiple shifts in a day (A,B or C,D), each shift is a day or night, Add to that each shift could make multiple widgets, meaning A could make 3 widgets in 12 hrs, where B could make two seperate runs of 4 widgets in 12 hrs.

Here is what 7 days of data would look like:

pic1.png

Because I am not aware of a way to plot individual points vs date, I get a bar chart that sums each day:

pic2.png

7 bars, shifts summed popped up, I was instead hoping to see 19 bars, that I can break out (Quarter Date, Week, ETC).

Is there a solution for this issue? Remember, I am not a programmer, so if there is a solution, I will have to be walked through the solution.

Thanks for your help in advance.

CincyKidd

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Ok, almost there!

Lastly, my data is a running data set, meaning I started tracking on June 15th. I understand that I can use the Slicer function to brake the data into months, is there a way to see the data set in its entirity, right now it looks like it is limited to 30 days.

pic3.png

Thanks for all the help, much appreciated!

CincyKidd

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Eric_Zhang
Employee
Employee

@CincyKidd

Not quite sure why you'd like 19 lines, data in report usually gets aggreaged instead. However some trick with RANKX can help to get 19 lines instead of 7.

Capture.PNGCapture.PNG