Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Yuvaraj
Helper I
Helper I

How to extract the data between special characters

Hi,

I am new to PowerBI, In below table i need to extract ID between the special characters(* and &).Could you please help me 

Comments
1.Found the root cause of "Reachability bill group issue"& documented it.
2.Working on CFO data issue*IM001350816&
1.Done the CFO data issue increamendal load script wise issue*IM001350816&
2.Done the aging no read manufacture code mismatch issue.
3.working on GAS ANL enhancement Poc *ALM# 2720&
Support moitoring process
AMI Deployment activity*IM001375780&
Order life cycle loading issue

Regards,

Yuvaraj 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Ah, so far it wasn't clear to me that you had multiple lines in each text field... at least that's what I understand now.

I created an Excel file with some test data (yours and some slubby examples) and the code below in Power BI - Query Editor and another video to illustrate how it works.

let
    Source = Excel.Workbook(File.Contents("C:\Users\Marcel\Documents\Forum bijdragen\Power BI Community\How to extract text between special characters.xlsx"), null, true),
    Table1_Table = Source{[Item="Table1",Kind="Table"]}[Data],
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Table1_Table,{{"Comments", type text}}),
    AddedStart = Table.AddColumn(#"Changed Type", "Start", each Text.PositionOf([Comments],"*",Occurrence.All)),
    ExpandedStart = Table.ExpandListColumn(AddedStart, "Start"),
    StartPlus1 = Table.TransformColumns(ExpandedStart, {{"Start", each _ + 1, type number}}),
    AddedLength = Table.AddColumn(StartPlus1, "Length", each if [Start] = null then null else Text.PositionOf(Text.Range([Comments],[Start]),"&",Occurrence.First)),