Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

rumittal
Employee
Employee

How to create multiple slicers for all charts in my reports such that they can also slice each other

Hi All,

I am relatively new to PowerBI and I am trying to achieve below outcome, can you please help advice on the best way to achieve the same.

Goal : 

(1) For all the charts in my reports, there are some dimensions/columns that will slice/filter each of these charts -

JobOwnerTeam, ScenarioOwnerTeam, Bucket, Config.

(2) Also, these columns can also have many to many mapping among them , and should be able to slice each other. For example, if I take below table, for JobOwnerTeam - Team1 , I should get configs - ConfigX and ConfigY. For jobOwnerTeam - Team2, I should get ConfigY and ConfigZ.

Please refer below detailed info for my tables layout and methods I have tried but failed. 

And please help with advice on the same, it would be really helpful.

Sample Data Table:

Data table 1:

ResultValueJobOwnerTeamScenarioOwnerTeamBucketConfig
OutcomeATeam1TeamPB1ConfigX
OutcomeBTeam1TeamPB1ConfigY
OutcomeCTeam2TeamQB2ConfigY
OutcomeDTeam2TeamQB2ConfigZ

Data table 2 : 

Teams ScoreJobOwnerTeamScenarioOwnerTeamBucketConfig
100Team1TeamPB1ConfigX
200Team1TeamPB1ConfigY
300Team2TeamQB2ConfigY
400Team2TeamQB2ConfigZ

Methods Tried:

Method1 :

a)creating 4 individual dimension table for each of JobOwnerTeam, ScenarioOwnerTeam, Bucket, Config and b)creating 4 slicers for each of them

--> It works to slice charts created on data tables but slicing across filters is not working.

Example, Selecting Team1 on JobOwnerTeam slicer is not selecting ConfigX and ConfigY on Config slicer.

Relationships : 

JobOwnerTeam - 1:many - Data Table1/2,

ScenarioOwnerTeam- 1:many - Data Table1/2,

Bucket- 1:many - Data Table1/2,

Config- 1:many - Data Table1/2,

Method 2 :