Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to create countifs in DAX - replicate Excel countifs

I'm trying to replicate Excel's countifs function. I've seen a couple other posts but I'm new to DAX and not totally clear how to do this.

How do I create a DAX formula that evaluates three separate columns and returns the count of how often the rows repeat?

Below I've created what I want in Excel. Column AK is what I want to create in DAX

countif dax.png

I tried just evaluating one column to get me started and I'm clearly doing something wrong. Here is the formula I tried:

Column = calculate(countx(Deliveries,DISTINCTCOUNT(Deliveries[Delivery])))
...but I just get a result of 1 for every row.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
mhossain
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @Anonymous 

use below dax, it should work

Countifs=
var delivery = 'Table'[Delivery]
var salesdoc = 'Table'[SalesDoc]
var item = 'Table'[Item]

RETURN

COUNTROWS(
FILTER(
all('Table'),
delivery='Table'[Delivery] &&
salesdoc=''Table'[SalesDoc] &&
item='Table'[Item]))

Please change the table name as per your table name, please let me know if this works for you.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
mhossain
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @Anonymous 

use below dax, it should work

Countifs=
var delivery = 'Table'[Delivery]
var salesdoc = 'Table'[SalesDoc]
var item = 'Table'[Item]

RETURN

COUNTROWS(
FILTER(
all('Table'),
delivery='Table'[Delivery] &&
salesdoc=''Table'[SalesDoc] &&
item='Table'[Item]))

Please change the table name as per your table name, please let me know if this works for you.

Anonymous
Not applicable

It worked! I had to change "item" to "item1" because I got a red error line, but now it worked.

Can you tell me how this is working so I can learn please?

Hi @Anonymous