Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

emma313823
Helper IV
Helper IV

How to create a specific type of relationship

Hi All

I'm extremely new to power BI and hope that someone can offer some simplistic instructions on how to accomplish something in a table I've imported using Excel.

I will try to explain the table as best as possible.  I have commission checks that come in from multiple principals/customers.  Each check gets entered into one row on the spreadsheet.  The header row has 5 territory columns - Metro, Mid, NE, PA and Upstate NY.  The check value can drop to only one of these or it can drop to multiple territories.

Revenue with Forecast Example.jpg

I've created multiple visuals and have been successful in creating slicers for all categories I need so all the charts change accordingly, however I'm stumbling on how to get the charts to change according to the territory.  When I grab a slicer and drop the Metro column it just displays the values for the various checks that have some portion attributed to it.

I want to create a slicer that will show Metro, Mid, NE, PA and Upstate NY as the options.  I don't have the option of modifying this flat file, so is there some way to do this?

I can send a sample file if someone can assist in helping me to figure this out.

Emma

Emma
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Well, you can certainly keep as many columns in your first table as you want but I don't think you would need to. The by unpivoting the rows, you should end up with something like:

CheckNo,Category,Value

00001,Metro,1170

00001,NE,42

00001,PA,1

etc.

With all of your other fields in your other table, you could display all of the data about the check from there and all of the category information would come from your second table (with the unpivot).