Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to create a Many to One relationship to create line graph

Hello,

I'm new to Power BI so i'm having trouble finding a solution to this. I have a table below:

Capture.PNG

I want to build a report with Line Graph on Power BI with the Quarters on the X-Axis, and the count of dates on the Y-Axis. Example: (But the 2017 Q1 would have a count of 1 and 2017 Q2 would have a count of 4...and so on.Capture1.PNG

I tried Transposing the original table to get a column of Quarters so I can use the Line Graph but I can't seem to create a relationship between the two tables. (Since Supplier ID is not the unique column after transposing). I can't think of anyway to create a unique table that can connect the two either.

I also tried to create individual Measures to total up the count from each Quarter in the original table but I can't get it to look right using the Line Graph.

Any ideas to help me get from the original table to the Line Graph is appreciated.

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-lili6-msft
Community Support
Community Support

HI, @Anonymous

You could try this way as below:

Step1:

In Edit Queries, select Supplier ID column then right-click ->Unpivot Other Columns

or select 2017 Q1 - 2018 Q4 column Unpivot Columns

1.JPG

Step2:

Filter blank value and  click Close&Apply

2.JPG

Step3:

You could drag the field Attribute ino X-Axis and use this measure as Value

Measure = CALCULATE(COUNTA(Table1[Value]))

or add a year quarter fact table and create the relationship with data table by Attribute .

Result:

3.JPG

Best Regards,

Lin

Community Support Team _ Lin
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
v-lili6-msft
Community Support