Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to convert weird integer date and time values

Hello everybody,

I hope someone can help me. I am very new to the whole data analysis world, therefore this is maybe an easily solvable problem.
I am trying to use power query in Power Bi to connect to data from a sql database. This database is the backend database from
a third party software we are using. In some tables the dates and times are in a weird integer format and I want them displayed as normal dates and times. I was able to achieve that for the dates via pyhton. Here an example: 735920 => 2015-11-18 .
I used phyton 2.6.15, the datetime module and the fromordinal() function. But I wanted to automate this with Power Bi. I attached a image from the values.
Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks!

001.png

6 REPLIES 6

Hi

If you know that 735920 equals 2015-11-18

Then 733904 must be 735920-733904 = 2016 days before

Then you could add a column in your query

= Table.AddColumn(PreviousStep, "Date", each Date.AddDays(#date(2015,11,18), [Process_Date]-735920))

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WMjc2tjQwUYrVATFNjAzNlWJjAQ==", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Process_Date = _t]),
    PreviousStep = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Process_Date", Int64.Type}}),
    #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(PreviousStep, "Date", each Date.AddDays(#date(2015,11,18), [Process_Date]-735920))
in
    #"Added Custom"

/Erik

Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you for your help! 

Apologies for the late response, but I got no notification from the forum.

I am not 100% sure how it works, but it works 🙂 

But how can I convert the time fields?