cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

How to calculate using Total from columns

I have a very simple problem, but I am not good with DAX or even measures yet, so this may be preventing me from getting the answer.

I have a dataset with the following information.

Region

C Estimate

D Estimate/Low Bid

(D-C) Difference

Variance from Estimate = (D-C)/C

South

-23.7%

Central

0.6%

South

-13.6%

South

-99.6%

South

-19.5%

North

28.2%

Total

-50.7%

I want it to calculate the variance between Estimate and Bid for various categories, but I need the Variance of the total.

Question: How do I get -50.7% in the graph, which is coming from “Total” Row.

What I am getting is the average of the variance  -21.3%, this is the average of the individual numbers

Average= (-23.7% +0.6% + -13.6% + -99.6% +-19.5% +28.2%)/6 =-21.3%

Right now I am calculating Variance (column 5) using the following measure: 

Variance = DIVIDE(BI_TENDER_DIMS[CvsD Diff],BI_TENDER_DIMS[C Estimate]) 

Please note numbers in the image below are same as numbers above, but divided by 1000 approx. 

Capture.JPG

Variance calculation only gives me a few options, and none of those include calculation on the total SUm value. These rows od data will change based on several filters, but I always need the variance from the total value, and I cannot calculate that yet.

Capture2.JPG 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Microsoft
Microsoft

Re: How to calculate using Total from columns

Hi @ngupta,

According to your description above, you should be able to use the formula below to create a measure(instead of a calculate column) to calculate the Variance in this scenario. Smiley Happy

Variance = DIVIDE(SUM(BI_TENDER_DIMS[CvsD Diff]),SUM(BI_TENDER_DIMS[C Estimate])) 

m1.PNGr1.PNG

Regards

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Highlighted
Microsoft
Microsoft

Hi @ngupta,