Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ngupta
Frequent Visitor

How to calculate using Total from columns

I have a very simple problem, but I am not good with DAX or even measures yet, so this may be preventing me from getting the answer.

I have a dataset with the following information.

Region

C Estimate

D Estimate/Low Bid

(D-C) Difference

Variance from Estimate = (D-C)/C

South

-23.7%

Central

0.6%

South

-13.6%

South

-99.6%

South

-19.5%

North

28.2%

Total

-50.7%

I want it to calculate the variance between Estimate and Bid for various categories, but I need the Variance of the total.

Question: How do I get -50.7% in the graph, which is coming from “Total” Row.

What I am getting is the average of the variance  -21.3%, this is the average of the individual numbers

Average= (-23.7% +0.6% + -13.6% + -99.6% +-19.5% +28.2%)/6 =-21.3%

Right now I am calculating Variance (column 5) using the following measure: 

Variance = DIVIDE(BI_TENDER_DIMS[CvsD Diff],BI_TENDER_DIMS[C Estimate]) 

Please note numbers in the image below are same as numbers above, but divided by 1000 approx. 

Capture.JPG

Variance calculation only gives me a few options, and none of those include calculation on the total SUm value. These rows od data will change based on several filters, but I always need the variance from the total value, and I cannot calculate that yet.

Capture2.JPG 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-ljerr-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @ngupta,

According to your description above, you should be able to use the formula below to create a measure(instead of a calculate column) to calculate the Variance in this scenario. Smiley Happy

Variance = DIVIDE(SUM(BI_TENDER_DIMS[CvsD Diff]),SUM(BI_TENDER_DIMS[C Estimate])) 

m1.PNGr1.PNG

Regards

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
v-ljerr-msft