Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

ptnewman
Frequent Visitor

How to calculate % increase

Hi, I am somewhat new to powerbi and have been struggling with a sales report.  The sales report shows a monthly increase in sales, not the sales total.  What I have so far is a table aggregated by month with a sales region, total sales amount, and sales delta from the prior month (this month sales - last month sales).  Then I display the delta using a waterfall visual and it looks great.  Have 2 slicers on date and sales region.  requirement now is to show the % increase from the beginning period selected.  So if I select 2016, I currently show a waterfall with 12 months and it shows the total increase for the year.  I want to calculate the % increase but can't figure out how.  I added the prior year ending sales amount to my table.  But that value then repeats for every month so I can't aggregate the value.  To further complicate the matter, I may want to select just a single quarter and see the % increase just for that quarter.  Thinking that I should have the starting sales amount for each month, but then only select the first month's value when calculating the % increase.  For example if I selected 2016, I would grab the starting sales value from January and use it as the denominator.  Just can't figure out how to just get that value when the report is showing all 12 months.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ptnewman
Frequent Visitor

Took me much digging and searching but i found a solution.  And now looking at the solution, it seems quite easy.  For me not so much because i am not an excel warrior and have no prior dax programming experience.