Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

L70F
Helper I
Helper I

How to apply Index/Match/If for array function in Power Query?

Hi, I am new with Power Query and need your help in my project.  

In Excel I have solved this task with Index/Match/If arrow function but I have big difficulty to find some good solution in Power Query.

I have a reference table with the columns: “Com.group”; “Qty Interval”; “Recommended_Qty”

And a workbook with columns: “ItemNo”; “Com.group”; “Annual Demand”.

I need:

For each ItemNo find the closest value below or equal "AnnualDemand" value within "Qty Interval" for right "Com.group". Therefore, pick the value from "Recommended_Qty".

Expected Result:

The workbook should be completed with value “Qty Interval” and “Recommended Qty” for each ItemNo from Reference table.

Reference table
Com.groupQty intervalRecommended Qty
301; 2; 5; 10
3105; 10; 20; 30
33020; 30; 50; 100
3100Brackets are not applicable! 
3500Brackets are not applicable! 
31000Brackets are not applicable! 
401; 5; 10; 20
4101; 5; 10; 20
43010; 20; 30; 50
410050; 100; 200; 500
4500Brackets are not applicable! 
41000Brackets are not applicable! 
501; 5; 10; 50
5101; 5; 10; 50
53020; 50; 100; 200
510050; 100; 200; 500
5500200; 500; 700; 1000
51000Brackets are not applicable! 

Workbook Wished resultWished result
ITEM_NOCom.groupAnnual demandQty IntervalRecommended Qty
TE303315100Brackets are not applicable! 
AG1003833020; 30; 50; 100
112416101; 5; 10; 20
705412510050; 100; 200; 500
787530001000Brackets are not applicable! 
9995753020; 50; 100; 200

I really appreciate your soon suggestion for solution since I’m stuck with this for a couple of weeks now.

Thanks a lot.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

Try this in your power query advanced editor:

let