Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to Overcome a Circular Dependency was Detected

Hi All,

This is my first time facing an issue like this. Basically I am attempting to perform the computation below:

My Measures (NB: All my measures are in the table MeasureFuel):

daily_closing_useful_stock = 'MeasureFuel'[daily_closing_global_fuel_stock] - sum(Parameters[Dead stock (Liter)]) /* Final Result */

Intermediate results

daily_closing_global_fuel_stock = 'MeasureFuel'[opening_global_fuel_stock] + sum('Daily Input'[Daily Delivery (Liter)]) - sum('Daily Input'[Daily Consumptions (Liter)])

Intermediate results

opening_global_fuel_stock = if ('MeasureFuel'[daily_closing_fuel_stock_pd] <> 0, 'MeasureFuel'[daily_closing_fuel_stock_pd], sum(Parameters[Opening Global fuel Stock (Liter)])

Intermediate results

daily_closing_global_fuel_stock_pd = CALCULATE( 'MeasureFuel'[daily_closing_global_fuel_stock], PREVIOUSDAY(DimDate[Date]))

My issue is this: When I try to save the measure opening_global_fuel_stock, i get the error "A circular dependency was detected"

How can I fix this??

5 REPLIES 5
v-xicai
Community Support
Community Support

Hi  @Anonymous ,

Does that make sense? If so, kindly mark the proper reply as a solution to help others having the similar issue and close the case. If not, let me know and I'll try to help you further.

Best regards

Amy

Hi,

v-xicai
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,

There is a good description for circular dependencies: https://www.sqlbi.com/articles/understanding-circular-dependencies/.

It does not allow to have two calculated columns that contain measures that are also based on that table.   As a workaround, you may try to convert these into measures instead of column.