Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

dittbub

How to Filter on Integer that is actually a timestamp?

Hello (I may have already posted this but I can't find it),

I'm new to Power BI and I need some help.

I have a table that stores a timestamp (in minutes) as an integer type.  The table has an index on this column for fast searching.  In SQL I can convert a date to an integer and filter on that to get a result set.

But how can I accomplish that in power bi?  If I use the timestamp as a filter, it needs an integer which users won't know.  I want the user to select a date range as if its a datetime type but then have their selection converted to an integer.

I thought what if I select the timestamp integer as a datetime type.   I did that but then the powerbi filter is INCREDIBLY slow.  I verified in SQL that if I convert the timestamp to datetime the search isn't nearly as quick. it took minutes instead of seconds - and thats filtering just on one day.  This is intended as a monthly report.

Any help would be appreciated.

EG of a working select from SQL, filtering on Timestamp:

StartDate = '2019-01-01'

EndDate = '2019-01-31

SELECT *
FROM [Table]
WHERE [Timestamp] >= DATEDIFF(minute,'1899-12-31',@StartDate)
AND [Timestamp] <= DATEDIFF(minute,'1899-12-31', @EndDate)

3 REPLIES 3
TomMartens
Super User
Super User

Hey,

I assume you use the DirectQuery mode to connect to your SQL table.

Create another table in SQL database that just contains unique values for the integer representing the data. Add some "readable" columns like date, YYYY-MM, YYYY ... to this table, let's call it calendar.

Add this table to your datamodel inside Power BI.