Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to Calculate Difference between max and min in one column based on each unique value of another

I am new to Power BI and I was trying to figure out how to calculate the difference between the min and max value for a column "Idle time" and "Idle fuel" for each invidual or unique date

data.PNG

So for an output I would want something similar to:

Date                                            Change in Idle time                Change in Idle Fuel

Thursday, July 19, 2018               0.25                                        1.00

Friday, July 20,2018                     0                                             0

Saturday July 21, 2018                2.4                                           8.13

I would also appreciate any explanation as to how/why the solution works as I am new to Power BI and I am trying to understand more about working in the environment as a whole.

Thanks,

Matt

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
dedelman_clng
Community Champion
Community Champion

For your example, you are going to want to create a measure, so that it accepts the "filters" that are implicitly created when you put various columns in a visualization. Basically we will find the min and max values within the measure and calculate the delta. The visualization that you use to display the figures will apply a filter on date, and the measure will calculate the min and max for each of the dates

Change in Idle Time = 
  var __MinVal = MIN(Table[Idle time])
  var __MaxVal = MAX(Table[Idle time])

return
  __MaxVal - __MinVal

Change in Idle Fuel = 
  var __MinVal = MIN(Table[Idle fuel])
  var __MaxVal = MAX(Table[Idle fuel])

return
  __MaxVal - __MinVal