Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MarkPendragon
Regular Visitor

How do I sort using my original data order ( ie NOT Alphanumeric but by a sql column order )

Hi, I have a list of accounting lines that I wish to import into a matrix and to retain the order that they appear in the table. I have had to create a subset of the full list of account report names in my sql system and insert a column specifically to index in the order i wish them to appear. This is the native table

Capture01.JPG

However, when I drop the table into the matrix I only have the option to do an alpha sort.  My "solution" was to redo the 'bi_sort' and make it have the sort number and text description. But this means my output matrix report has that as well.

Capture02.JPG

This is not acceptable to management.

I am new to BI and would appreciate some guidance on what steps to take. I am experienced VBA programmer but am struggling with the drag'n'drop nature of BI and wish I could just code all the placements and objects. 

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5

There is a sort by column button in the Modeling tab (I think that is where it is). The cardinality of the column you want to change sort order for (away form alpha) needs to be the same as the sort by column. 

* Matt is an 8 times Microsoft MVP (Power BI) and author of the Power BI Book Supercharge Power BI.

Hi,

The "sort by column" in the modelling tab is greyed out. So not available for me.

Thanks

Mark

Hi @MarkPendragon,

When the visual is selected but no column is selected in the Fields pane, the Sort by Column button is inactive (grayed out). Make sure, you have selected the column which needs to be sorted like month name.

Best Regards,
Angelia