Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

SimonM
Regular Visitor

How do I return a calculated table sorted by a specific column?

Hi there, I'm fairly new to DAX and I have a simple question I can't seem to find an answer to.  In the image below I am adding a percentage column to a table in Power BI Desktop,  What is the syntax for returning the table sorted in descending order by the percentage column? So, the equivilent of an Order By clause.  I have searched but found little information on this topic, I would have expected it to be quite intuitive!

Many thanks

Simon

Table Results

10 REPLIES 10
MarkLaf
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Why not use a measure?

Max % Sector = CALCULATE(VALUES(TableSummaries[Sector]),TOPN(1,FILTER(ALL(TableSummaries),TableSummaries[Percentage]=CALCULATE(MAX(TableSummaries[Percentage]),ALL(TableSummaries)))))

Or avoid relying on a calculated column and just go with the following (LASTNONBLANK+TOPN lifted from yet another great SQLBI article😞

Perc = SUMX(TableSummaries,SUM(TableSummaries[Counts])/SUM(TableSummaries[Base]))
Max % Sector NoCC = CALCULATE(LASTNONBLANK(TOPN(1,VALUES(TableSummaries[Sector]),[Perc]),1),ALL(TableSummaries))
Rémi
Resolver III
Resolver III

Hi,

You can't sort columns in this data view.

Do a table with [Sector] and [Percentage] then click on the three dots top/right of the visualisations, you can choose your sort.

Otherwise, if you want a specific order for a column (ex with months : jan / feb / ... ), you have to create a sort column with the number of the order (same ex : Sort Column = MONTH([Date]) ) and you can do a sort by column.

Hi Rémi, thanks for getting back.  Let me explain what I am ultimately trying to do, maybe there is another way around it.