Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

chchIntech
Frequent Visitor

How do I create a Month to Date and Budget total by calendar date?

Hi there,

I am relatively new to Power BI, and still learning some of the DAX capabilities.

I am trying to create a report for our client that shows the following:

PowerBI query.PNG

The values come out of an Invoice summary file, that shows the value of the Invoice by calendar date.  So there can be multiple entries of Invoices for February, multiple for March and multiple for April etc...

The Invoice extract data we have will update daily with new info.

The Monthly Budgets are fixed to a calendar month, and the yearly budget is fixed for that financial year.

My questions are:

If the data updates itself daily and time moves on - how do I get the Current Month values to recognise the current month and total them accordingly?  i.e. I was in March, but now it is April - how do I get it to show only current April sales without remaking the report?

The financial year begins in February (for this client).  How do I get it to add the budget amounts of FEB, MAR and APRIL once we reach April?  What happens when it becomes May?

Many thanks in advance for your help....  New to this stuff, but looking forward to getting into deeper.

13 REPLIES 13
CheenuSing
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @chchIntech

Please download April 2017 update of power BI desktop and it is making it easier for all of us to build new measures very easily.

Watch the videos associated with the update.

Cheers

CheenuSing

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution and also give KUDOS !

Proud to be a Datanaut!
CheenuSing
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @chchIntech