Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

kfschaefer
Helper IV
Helper IV

How do I change owners for Power Bi Report

Is there a way to change owners of BI solution.  I am a contractor who created a dashboard and I was wondering how I turn over the project to my client so they can continue to upgrade the dashboards with not just data changes but architect changes.

Thanks,

K

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
kcantor
Community Champion
Community Champion

I have passed ownership by supplying the pbix file and having a coworker resave it. Of course she had access to the datasources through her credentials in Windows.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
kcantor
Community Champion
Community Champion

I have passed ownership by supplying the pbix file and having a coworker resave it. Of course she had access to the datasources through her credentials in Windows.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

@kfschaefer You've probalby already figured this out but you're better off creating a Group workspace initially with the client, then you can pass over the base PBIX, but that way you don't lose shared content or have to re-do things.

Looking for more Power BI tips, tricks & tools? Check out PowerBI.tips the site I co-own with Mike Carlo. Also, if you are near SE WI? Join our PUG Milwaukee Brew City PUG
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi-I am very new to Powerbi so please bear with me.

When you say pass over the PBIX - how does that work?

Thanks,

Andrea