Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

How can i get totals in tables as i need them?

Hi to everyone here,

I'm new to Power BI Desktop and i've created a quick measure to know each cost per workplace and the total sum of all workplace costs. 

Captura.JPG                         PBIX file here

The first part works great, but on last row ("Total") instead of a sum of all workplace costs, seems like it took the sum of all unitary cost per workplace and then multiply that value by the total quantity.

I replicate the data and structure on a dummy and the error persists. Have anyone had a similar problem?

I would really appreciate any advice on how to show data right.

Thanks in andavce,

Pere Joan

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Jihwan_Kim
Super User
Super User

Hi, @Anonymous 

I could not open the link, because it asked to enter the password.

However, please try to write the below measure and put it into the visualization.

Costs Total = Sumx (Table Name, [Quantity Column] * [Cost Column])

Hi, My name is Jihwan Kim.

If this post helps, then please consider accept it as the solution to help other members find it faster, and give a big thumbs up.

Linkedin: linkedin.com/in/jihwankim1975/

Twitter: twitter.com/Jihwan_JHKIM

If this post helps, then please consider accepting it as the solution to help other members find it faster, and give a big thumbs up.

Go to My LinkedIn Page

View solution in original post

Hi, @Anonymous 

Thank you for your feedback and for sharing the sample pbix file.

After seeing the relationships between tables, please try to write the below measure and put it into the visualization.

UnitaryCost X quantity V2 =
SUMX (
TimeLineQuantity,
TimeLineQuantity[quantity]
* LOOKUPVALUE (
OFs[UnitaryCost],