Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

ScottG
Frequent Visitor

How can I select 2 (or more) Members of one Dimension in DAX?

Good Day,

I am trying to provide something like MDX Set behaviour in DAX, (my appologies I am quite new to DAX).

Please consider the following:

Dim_Simulation

id, name

1, Simulation 1

2, Simulation 2

3, Simulation 3

Dim_Start_Simulation

id, name

1, Simulation 1

2, Simulation 2

3, Simulation 3

Dim_End_Simulation

id, name

1, Simulation 1

2, Simulation 2

3, Simulation 3

where:

- Dim_Simulation is related to the fact table on the id column.

- Dim_Start_Simulation and Dim_End_Simulation are used in DAX variance calculations.

Image for Forum Post.png

Now I would like to make a graph at the top (orange area in image) of my Power BI Page which has the two (assuming distinct) simulations selected in slicers from Start Simulation and End Simlation as members from Dim_Simulation...

My question is how does one go about this?

1 REPLY 1
v-sihou-msft
Employee
Employee

@ScottG

In your canvas, if you select Simulation1 for Start_Simulation slicer and Simulation2 for End_Simulation slicer at the same time, no line graph will be displayed. Because there is no Sales (I assume it’s sales here) corresponding to Simulation1 as well as Simulation3. Each sales always belongs to one id.

However, you can get the expected result by changing your slicers. Use name in Dim_Simulation as the first slicer, and use another “measure slicer” to decide who is the start simulation. This should work when you only have two simulations selected in the slicer. There is no need to use Dim_Start_Simulation and Dim_End_Simulation anymore. Please refer to following steps:

I assume that your fact table is like below

1.jpg