Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

inthemeadow
Regular Visitor

How can I make Tool tips display text instead of count?

Hello! I'm brand new to Power BI and I've got a complicated question already.

I have a bunch of survey results that can be grouped by a number of different buckets. The survey questions are also grouped into categories.

I organized my visualization to show an average score by category. My tooltip shows the Category and the Average score (with no decimals).

I want to add a description to the tooltip, based on the average answer. For example, average score = 2 would return a description of "Level 2 means some projects are using best practice but not many."

I have data that links the score (1-5) and the description. In Excel terms I would do a vlookup: (average score,table of scores & descriptions,description column number, true). I can't figure out how to reference the average score and use that to find the related description. When I try bringing descriptions into the Tool Tips, I just get "Count" instead of the text. 

Is this possible??

Thank you!

13 REPLIES 13
KHorseman
Community Champion
Community Champion

Assuming average score is a measure, write a new measure that returns some text description based on values for the average.

Tooltip Description = SWITCH(

[Average Score],

1, "Level 1 means something something something.",

2, "Level 2 means some projects are using best practice but not many.",

3, "Level 3 means something else something something.",

4, "Level 4 means you probably get the idea by now.",

5, "Level 5 means I'm still typing this example.",

"This is a default for when the average score is blank or 6 or 97 or whatever.")

Then put that measure into the tooltip box.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!