Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

DSKinCO
Frequent Visitor

How can I add a YTD Avg data point to a line chart?

I am totally new to Power BI. I am trying to move/replicate charts that are used for a dashboard, that are currently produced in Excel. In Excel I can have the monthly data laid out in columns titled Jan - Dec with a 13th column named Avg and have this contain a YTD average which is then displayed to the right of the monthly section on the chart. Here is the Excel chart:

YTD Avg - Excel.png

I'd like to do the same in Power BI but can't figure out how to get the data into the same chart in its own space to the right. I did create two charts in Power BI I placed them side-by-side, I would like a single chart with the monthly data and the YTD avg displayed. Here are how the two charts look in Power BI:

YTD Avg - Power BI.png

Again, these are two separate charts, with data for both current and previous year, and I need to put them into one chart.  I need to recreate this for about 40 different data sets/charts to go into a final dashboard.

Thank you in advance for any suggestions! 

3 REPLIES 3
v-cherch-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @DSKinCO 

It seems you may create two measures and drag them to values of line chart.Then modify the 'shapes' as below.Attached a simplified sample file.

YTD = TOTALYTD(SUM('Table'[Value]),'Table'[Date])

a1.png

Regards,

Community Support Team _ Cherie Chen
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.