Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

kgriendling
Advocate I
Advocate I

How Do I Avoid Alphabetical Sorting?

Hi All,

Total BI Newbie here. I have a list of costs being fed into my report, and it auto-sorted to alphabetical. I want it to show as its native sorting. How do I control this? The arrow on the column just swaps the alphabetical from ascending to descending...

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

You need a numeric or alphabetic column that corresponds to that original sort order, then use that to sort.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16
RBear
Advocate I
Advocate I

I find it hard to belive that PBI will have such a counterintuitive (and, under some circumstances, outright stupid) "feature" as a non-preventable sorting. So if I have a table where the first column is presented in some logical order (say, animals by ascending size - dog, horse, elephant), there is no way to preserve that order without resorting to all sorts of unnecessary gymnastics?

Is there really no way to prevent it?

KHorseman
Community Champion
Community Champion

@RBear I'm not sure what the difficulty is. If you want a non-alphanumeric sort order, provide another column that has that order. Then under Modeling, select Sort By Another Column and choose the sort order column. So in your example, you would create two columns:

Animal     SortOrder

Dog          1

Elephant   3

Horse       2

I don't know if that's what you're refering to as unnecessary gymnastics but I can't think of any simpler alternative.

If you want a non-alphanumeric sort order, provide another column that has that order. Then under Modeling, select Sort By Another Column and choose the sort order column. So in your example, you would create two columns:

Animal     SortOrder