Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

ianmelb99

Historic open claims

Hi,

I am new to Dax and having a problem calculating historic open claims report.

I have  a fact table of insurance claims. Each row is a unique claim record number and includes a date opened and date closed field. Claims that are not yet closed have a blank in the closed column.

I want my report to include how many open claims existed over past weeks in the form of a bar chart. So for a given day/period in the past how many claims were open but not closed.

I have a dimension date table linked to my open claim date field.

suggestions on how to solve this would be appreciated. Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Adam,

Thanks for your comments. Makes more sense now.

I have soved it by

- creating a fake closedate column in my claims table which is the actual close date for closed claims and today for open claims.

- creating a date table called OpenClaims and linking it to the open date in the claims claims table.

- in my new date table I created a calculated column using

OpenClaimsCount = COUNTROWS(FILTER('ClaimsTable','ClaimsTable'[Date Claim Entered]<='OpenClaims'[Date]&&'ClaimsTable'[FakeCloseDate]>='OpenClaims'[Date]))

My OpenClaims table now has a number of open claims for every date

I can now report at a day granular level or average for week etc.

Slowly getting my head around DAX - Phew..

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable