Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Kumar11109
Helper IV
Helper IV

Histogram custom bins

Hi everyone, I am new to power bi and I am stuck. I need to create time spent bins for a histogram. How should I create bins like >2, 2-4, 4-6 , 6-8... Etc. Please help its urgent....

Screenshot (61).png

You see that I have already added the time spent for session using the calculate formula. Which is as follows: 

Calculate(Sum(VW_GRoupScoreP4(MinutesSpent),AllExcept(VW_GroupScoreP4,VW_GRoupScoreP4(SessionID)). 

I hope this formula is correct to find total time spent in each session. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-jiascu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi, @Kumar11109

There will be a menu when you click “1”, choose “New Group”, then you can see scene “6”. Let Group type be “Bin”, then choose Bin size as 2. As you can see the data in “5”, all the data group by 2 or whatever you want (>2, 2-4, 4-6 , 6-8).
Ps:  1. The axis and the value are the same column “Total Time Spent”.

2. Reference: https://powerbi.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/powerbi-desktop-grouping-and-binning/

Histogram custom bins.jpgHistogram custom bins02.jpg

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
asitm
Helper III
Helper III

I believe the free Microsoft visual is not available anymore. Though there are other custom visuals available for Histogram in appsource now, and those have the options to customize bin easily. Some paid and some free, but the free ones have more limitations.

https://appsource.microsoft.com/en-us/product/power-bi-visuals/histogramstd

asitm_0-1696568869138.png

v-jiascu-msft
Employee
Employee

@Kumar11109

Hi,

Could you share your method here please? That would be very helpful to others.