Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hide blank columns Multi-Row Card View

Hello,

I'm trying to use a Multi-card view to display the results of a change intake form. Only the values being changed on the intake form need to be displayed. I'm new to Power BI and wondering if there's a way to hide any values that are blank. Example attached.

Card Summary.png

8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi, 

You can hide the blank value using a Conditional Formatting rule on the Value. The rule is 'if blank' then select the same color as the card or canvas background. 

I have created a video tutorial on how to create the conditional rule in data cards, it should work the same in Multi Row cards : https://youtu.be/Xsmbfpa4oCA

biancagilly_1-1652137235851.png

Cheers, Bianca

Hi Bianca,

Unfortunately this option does not work, because you need to pick a field as a condition, what will happen is that if that specific field is blank , the entire multi card value color will become the color of the background defined in the example given above, that would mean the entire content would be "hidden" including fields with values.

Has anyone else found a solution for this? I am facing the same problem. Seeing the "(Blank)" fields in the report is really not appealing but I can't seem to be able to format at a value by value level.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @DiogoMartinsCMO
If you don't like the blank card, you can create a measure to display zero instead of Blank.

Below is a  DAX example for a distinct count of results.

# Results (blank free) =
var results = DISTINCTCOUNT('Table_name'[column_name])
return
IF(ISBLANK(results),0,results)

The variable counts rows; if the count equals 0, display 0; otherwise, display count.