Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Help with matrix, summarize hours per week or month

I'm quite new to Power BI but very impressed by all possibilities! 

I have some projectdata that I need some help with. My data consists of: (ex value)

Project (House A)

Activity (Construction)

Startdate (2020-01-10)

Stopdate (2020-01-31)

Planned hours (60.0)

Reported hours (0.0)

Rest hours (60.0)

I have created a nice Gantt chart based on the information above with good result, but now I want more 🙂

What I now want to do is to create a matrix that shows planned hours per workingday, and possible to summarize per week and month.

I have used the formula in excel networkingdays in order to calculate that it is 16 working days, giving 3.75 hours per day.

So I would like in the report power bi to find out that every day between startdate (2020-01-10) and stopdate (2020-01-31) should be calculated with 3.75 hours.

When I choose to se the data in weeks I will se week 2 = 3.75 and week 3,4 & 5 18.75 per week. total of 60 hours.

Is this possible to do without very advanced skills... 

Very grateful for any assistance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
tex628
Community Champion
Community Champion

Wonderful! 

You can do a quick check by dragging both of the date columns from the tables to make sure that they find eachother and the relationship is working as intended:

image.png

Now this is going to seem a little strange, but we and a copy of the original projects table. So go into the query editor and make a duplicate of said table and remove any transformations untill you only have the table you started out with:

image.png

Load your queries again, go into the relationships view and create a relationship between the prject name columns in your two project tables:

image.png