Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Nicho247
Helper III
Helper III

Help with Line Chart & relationship of tables

Hello -

Entry lvl noob with power bi. however, I have some experience with ssms & excel. I have a datatable with work orders, where they start on a date and finish on a date. So this is my transaction table. I've also categorized all work orders into one of five flavors/categories. This has worked well to make simple charts. I wanted to make a trending report over the last two years or so, where on any given day, it will calculate open many open work orders were there on that day, and want a series for each flavor. To do this, I ended up making a new table (calendar) in power bi, where it has a row for every date, and then created a calculated column where I had to hardcode the flavor into the column and then setup a formula to calculate what work orders were open based on the row/day of the calendar. I repeated this for each flavor, and ended up with a reasonable looking line chart. However, after all this I ended up noticing a wrinkle, and these flavors/categories are divorced from all my other charts. I.E. when I click on one of the lines, it focus'es on that line but the other charts don't follow suit.

I need help with how to rework this so that they are not divorced. I am unable to setup a relationship since the calculated columns have hardcoded data. I split this calendar table which held all flavors, into a mini calendar for each flavor and this didn't help. I am sure I am doing this in a weird way, given I am new user. Finding this problem tough to google/youtube to find the proper training video. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Nick

11 REPLIES 11
amitchandak
Super User
Super User