Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ck18
Frequent Visitor

Help understanding filtering vs parameters

I am new to Power BI and although I am also new to SQL, I am trying to use them together. I finally figured out how to create parameters and how to apply the parameter (during the query editing?). But I simply do not understand why I went through the effort of creating a query list and filtering at the start, versus filtering during visualization. What I have read all seems very convoluted. I'd greatly appreciate if someone can break it down for me in layman's term. Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable
5 REPLIES 5
AdamBQ

The short answer is because it's usually way faster.

When you create parameters and apply them during query editing, the parameters are (typically) "folded" back to the server. That is, when your query is executed on the server it includes the parameter information. This typically reduces the size of the result set sent back to PBI, and since SQL Server is optimized for SQL (as opposed to PBI which can't really be specialized for a particular data source), the filtering operation is completed much more quickly. Those two factors mean less waiting around for you, assuming you have more than a trivial amount of data to process.

A quick example to illustrate. Imagine executing the following two SQL queries:

`select * from MY_TABLE where MY_COL='foo'`

`select * from MY_TABLE`