Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Douttful
Helper I
Helper I

Help needed changing a calculated column into a measure.

Hello! 

I am VERY new to Power BI and have been combing through tons of pages and videos to teach myself. I am building a series of reports for my work place to monitor team member metrics, and I am stuck pretty good right now. I need to calculate the period number based on a ticket date submissions. I was able to find this great code for a calculated column (Code at the bottom changed to my table column names) and it works great! Problem is, I need to use the Period number to help slice the data by period. And calculated columns and slicers don't play together. We've got a few visuals on the page that reference the YTD average for the metric as well so adding the period filter to the whole page won't give all the data I need to display. The fix is to turn the calculated column into a measure, and I am completely lost on that one. 

CODE:  Period Number = CALCULATE(VALUES('Current Fiscal Year'[Period Number]), FILTER('Current Fiscal Year', 'Current Fiscal Year'[Period Start Date]<= EARLIER('5PT Grading Data'[Ticket Submission Date]) && 'Current Fiscal Year'[Period End Date]>= EARLIER('5PT Grading Data'[Ticket Submission Date])))

I've been doing reading and EARLIER doesn't seem to work well with Measures based on what I've found. I've done some reading on the DATESBETWEEN function but don't know how to apply that successfully to this if it's the correct funtion to use. 

I'd really like to avoid writing a long if/then statement that we'd need to update annually with the start and end date of each period. I'm trying to have as few edit touch points as possible, and future proof the process if someone new takes it over. If that's my only option, then that's my only option. But I wanted to ask.