Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

braybrookj
Helper I
Helper I

Help: Text Cleansing with R

Hi Guys,

I'm trying to cleanse my data in Power BI with R. The data comes from a SQL query and then in power query I'm using the "Run R Script" as a final step.

I have 6 columns of data (Score [int], Date [date], Comments [varchar(max)], username [varchar(20)], Language [varchar(20)] and Source [int].

I'm new to R so this could be simple or I may be barking up the wrong tree completely. The R script I have attempted is:

# 'dataset' holds the input data for this script
library(tm)
library(wordcloud)
words <- Corpus(VectorSource(dataset[,3]))
words <- tm_map(words, stripWhitespace)
words <- tm_map(words, content_transformer(tolower))
words <- tm_map(words, removeNumbers)
words <- tm_map(words, removePunctuation)
words <- tm_map(words, removeWords, stopwords("english"))
words <- tm_map(words, stemDocument)
output <- dataset
output$cleansed <- words

It outputs all original columns as per before the R Script EXCEPT the date column which returns "Microsoft.OleDb.Date" for every value. The final column "Cleansed" just returns null.

Any ideas on what needs to be changed to get this to work?

Cheers

3 REPLIES 3
alanhodgson
Solution Supplier
Solution Supplier

Hey @braybrookj,

I just used the code above and had no issues creating the visual (see below). What is the date column formatting? Mine is formatted as data type Date, format M/d/yyyy, "Do Not Summarize".

wordcloud.PNG

Hope this helps,

Alan

Hi @alanhodgson

Thanks for the response.

The issue I have is that I publish a data model to the service and build a collection of reports in the based off a common data model. R Visuals cannot be created in the service.