Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

MJC1
Frequent Visitor

Help Please: How to Include "Time" in Date Hierarchy

Hi Power BI wizards,

I am new to Power BI and I am trying to build some reports based on energy data from smart meters.  

The data is pretty much a time series with a timestamp of the following format "01/01/2017 15:30:00".

For each timestamp there will be a corresponding value of energy. My data in on a half-hour basis, thus for an annual time series there will be 17520 timestamps.

I would like to build a report in Power BI that includes the following chart: X-axis: Half-hour (for a single day of the year. i will insert a slicer so that the user can choose the day year of interest) and Y-axis: energy.

For having various date dimensions in power BI I am using the the standard script below on a Power BI query. The script is standard appears everywhere on the web. (https://pastebin.com/vxRc4AnU) 

I have trying to modify this script to include the Time dimension (i.e. hour, hal-hour, minute) into this Date Table but I am struggling to do so. I am not getting it right. This is because I am fairly inexperienced with this.

I would like to kindly ask you whether you could give a quick hand in solving this. What code lines do I need to add in the code below to include the Time dimension (i.e. hour, hal-hour, minute) into this Date Table? Grateful if you could help me on this one. Thank you very much in advance. 

let fnDateTable = (StartDate as date, EndDate as date, optional Culture as nullable text) as table =>
let
DayCount = Duration.Days(Duration.From(EndDate - StartDate))+1,
Source = List.Dates(StartDate,DayCount,#duration(1,0,0,0)),
TableFromList = Table.FromList(Source, Splitter.SplitByNothing()),
ChangedType = Table.TransformColumnTypes(TableFromList,{{"Column1", type date}}),