Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Dbhuertac

Help Creating a Stacked bar graph with different subcategories

Hi all!

I'm fairly new to Power BI and was wondering if anyone had any insight into how I could make a single visualization with multiple bar graphs using the same data set, and with each bar graph displaying a progressively smaller number of data, with different sub categories. Hopefully I'm using the correct wording, but essentially here is my situation:

- I have 18,000 rows of data that I want to group in two distinct Categories (lets call them A&B) and display in a stacked bar graph.

- I then want to show only the data in category A (say 17,000 lines) and divide that Data into new subcategories: Lets call them "A1,B1,C1" in another bar graph.

- I then want to show only the data contained in category B1 (say 8,000 lines) and break it down further into subcategories A2,B2,C3, etc.. in another graph.

- Finally, I want to show only category C3 and break it down into subcategory A3,B3,C3 in a final graph.

I've attached a picture I drew with what I'm thinking of doing. All the data comes from a single data set. Apologies on what I'm sure is a noob question but any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Bar Graph.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Dbhuertac,

Maybe you can try to use hierarchy slicer to filter visual graph to display specific items.
Otherwise you need to write a measure with conditions as value field of visual, I think it is hard and complex to achieve.

Sample: hide bars when drill down.(2 level)

How to hide bars when drilling down in the same visualization?

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin