Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

naoyixue1
Post Patron
Post Patron

Help --- Calculate the ending inventory

Hey there,

I'm very new to BI, so i might ask something very weird. 😞  I want to calculate the ending inventory from this Sept to the Dec. I'm now having a one table  including work order (production), on hand inventory and demands. Given that, I calculated the inventory movement at first (work order Qty + On hand Inv - Total Demands). and then applied the cumulative concept to get my ending inventory. But because demands data is from this Jan to this Sept, but work order and on hand inventory is only from this Sept to Dec. So, the rolling inventory ( I named as inventory movement) is not right. How should I only implement the calculation for Sept to Dec. 

By the way, would you help check whether my calculation dax is right or not? Thanks!

Ending Inv = CALCULATE(CALCULATE([Movement],FILTER(ALLSELECTED(FactTable),FactTable[Date]<=MAX(FactTable[Date]))),FILTER(all(FactTable),COUNTROWS(FILTER(FactTable,EARLIER(FactTable[SKU])=FactTable[SKU]))))

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hi @naoyixue1 

I think you need cumulative the work order before current month. Your Work order column may be a Measure, however, I don't know its calculate logic.

You may try this measure:

Cumulative Work Order = calculate(Sum([Work Order]),Filter('Calendar','Calendar'[Date]<= Max('Calendar'[Date])))

If this reply still couldn't help you solve your problem, could you show me the calculate logic of your work order measure.

And I need to know your data model to understand your measure, you can show me a sample data model like the one you are dealing with. Or you can share your pbix file with me by your Onedrive for Business.

Best Regards,

Rico Zhou