Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Having a Measure be effected by a Filter

Hi, I'm pretty new to PBI, so please bear with me,

I'm trying to graph some data, and am trying to use Measures, which I thought was part of a viable solution, but I've now realised my Measure is not effected by the Filter I also need to use (and I think I know why, now I've thought about it), so am looking for a bit of steer or an alternative approach. Also note, I can only connect to the data source and read, so I don't have the ability to create any new tables, rows etc.

The principal of the scenario and data is below, I've abstracted actual fields etc 🙂

FavoriteFoodDateofRespondantCityOfRespondant
Apple, CarrotJanuaryLondon
Pear, CarrotMarchBristol
AppleAprilLondon
Pear, Cashew, EggsDecemberBirmingham

I'd ultimately like to chart the frequency of individual 'FavoriteFood' per this example, which are a comma separated field. So I can show how many times Apple came up, how many times Pear came up. Note: There were only 10 options of food the respondant can choose, so not an infinite list.

I'd also like to be able to use some Filter/Slicers for this by DateofRespondent and/or CityofRespondent. The above is an example to demonstrate the principal, there are in reality more colums, rows, tables etc - but you get the gist.

My original plan was to create a new Measure, like below to add a 1 or 0 column depending on if each row contains a particular food type, like this...

IncludesApple = IF(CONTAINSSTRING(SELECTEDVALUE(MyTable[FavoriteFood]),"Apple"),1,0)

then sum these in another Measure like this...

SumofApple = sumx('MyTable',[IncludesApple])

This worked for the whole table, and I can graph this (SumofApple, SumofEggs etc), fine - however of course when I apply a filter to the visual it doesn't take effect on the Measure.