Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

HR Dashboard query - source files and table

hi all,

I am fairly new to PowerBI, however doen basic handson and now getting to work.

Have to develop a develop a HR monthly dashboard with 2 input files - 1) Monthly exit employee list 2) Total closing Headcount employee list (more than 1000 active employees ) for the month. Asked to do this with minimal manual intervention.

My concern is how do i get the values of opening and closing HC of every month from the HC file .

For attrition  Table- i face no issues , i have my table getting refreshed by just placing the monthly exit file in the folder.

For Headcount (HC) - if i replace the Monthly HC file every month,  i would get an active HC file for my dashboard. however i also need to calculate YTD attrition rate and Annual attrition rate by depts for which i would need the the opening and closing HC of each month.

Ruminating over this , i have gt the following options but confused on how will it help my cause:

1. Maintain one excel in a folder which picks the closing and opening HC every month (thru formulas or scripts in excel), which can be imported/refreshed in Power BI. can calculate the attrition rate from there

2. Refresh one HC table in PowerBI evey month which will update the HC , then manipulate the data for removing the duplicates, add a flag for the releived employees by connecting to the attrition table- however not sure how this will give me the opening and closing HC of every month to be stored , will it be fool proof 

3.Have a HC table for every month , but is it useful to upload 1000 roes of data just to get the monthly opning and closing HC file.?